“Intercession: Consistent Christianity”

Posted: December 17, 2012 in My First Trials

(This one is kinda’ heavy. Please take time to read.)

Today is November 23, 2012 and I am thinking of a good way to start an essay and share God’s revelation through me for every KKB (or the Kristiyanong Kabataan para sa Bayan; the youth organization of our church). I couldn’t think of the best way to start it. Maybe because, in the first place, I am scared and intimidated of what people will say if they read this one.

“I pray every moment. I meditate on the Bible everyday. God spoke to me and revealed something (Joel 2:28, ‘And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions’). I consulted the elders. I consulted the Bible. I prayed hard about it. Voila! It’s true. I received different affirmations and confirmations.”

That’s why I am scared and intimidated. What if it is really not from God? What if it is from the other side, just trying to distract me? What if people won’t listen? Well, I shouldn’t worry. God’s with me. He got my back. I mean, He got my whole being.

Holiness! That’s the word. As Joshua Harris puts it, from his book Dug Down Deep, “Holiness is not just a set of rules. It is imitating my Father (1 Peter 1:15-16). Righteousness in relationship is what pleases my Father. I’m not trying to live up to some church standard or self-imposed standard (Isaiah 29:13). I want to grow in honoring and knowing and blessing the heart of my Father (Romans 12:1).” That’s it! That is what I really want to say, Holiness in all aspect. God wants to saturate the church with His powerful anointing and He wants to penetrate inside the every heart and mind of His worshipers. But God won’t be able to do it because of the lost of holiness inside the church. As I was meditating on the Bible last October 18, 2012, God spoke to me. I read Romans 1:28-32 and verse 32 states, “Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.” It was a striking moment. The Scripture is clear. The wages of sin is death. It is just so sad to know that there are still so many Christians out there who are rejecting this message. They are actually not affected. They still tend to pretend before God.

In the last of the last days, many will clam they are Christians, but only few will live by its real meaning, “Holiness!” Let us start redeeming the time for the days are evil. What does that mean? Pretension. Hypocrites. We received Christ as our Lord and Savior, then we claim to be Christians. But that shouldn’t end there. It doesn’t mean that when we’re Christians, we are already immune of temptations and deceptions. We are still humans. We have to work out for our salvation. Philippians 2:12-13 states, “Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling.” We have received the gift of salvation. We have to work out for it, to take a good care of it. The days are evil, my friend. We are now in the last days where the wicked will become more wicked and ungodly, where sinful acts become legal or politically correct, where complacent or carnal Christians will totally lose their fire. But God has this promise, “The righteous will live by faith.” (Romans 1:17). Hallelujah!

So, why am I telling these stuffs to you? It is because I want to align your heart to my heart. So that our hearts shall be congruent to the heart of the Lord. These are God’s revelations. Heavy revelations! What’s the point? The point is, we must pray harder. We must cast out every plans and works of the devil. We must break every fortress and strongholds of the devil. The best way is to pray. Align our hearts with the Spirit. It is the time to take stand. We should be love-driven. That’s the purpose of this entry. Last August 21, 2012, God gave me my first task as a prayer warrior (Well, I just said that ’cause I committed myself to the WIN ministry of Warriors Intercessors Network). He revealed to me the 5 points that we should pray for as Christians so that holiness will be preserved inside the church. My main concern is the youth. That’s why I took a deep breath and I shared God’s revelation to them. The following 5 prayer items have become part of our everyday praying habit.

1. NOT EVEN A HINT OF SEXUAL IMMORALITY. RESISTING TEMPTATIONS. LUST OF THE FLESH. FORNICATION.  God desires for us a pure life. A life that is blameless. For we are God’s holy people. God is concerned with the pureness of our heart, minds and bodies. Ephesians 5:3 states, “But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.” Did you know that in nearly every book of the New Testament, we are commanded to avoid sexual impurity? That shows that God is really concerned with our purity. Let us never tolerate the spirit of lust inside the church. “Nevertheless, I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophet. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols.” (Revelation 2:20).

2. PURPOSEFUL SINGLENESS IN OUR TEENAGE YEARS. DEDICATION OF OUR LIVES. This one is intended for teenagers (but that doesn’t mean you’ll lose your purity after after teen years, purity must be preserved). Again, God is concerned with the purity of our hearts. Proverbs 4:23 says, “Above all else guard your heart, for out of it flows the wellspring of life.” This should be our key verse in our journey of giving God our hearts. Ru dela Torre puts it this ways, “One purpose of being devoted to God by being single is that it helps you discover the value of having the right priorities in life, upholding purity and rendering service to Go and other young people.” That is so clear. I want to share to you another passage from the Bible that will help us dedicate our teenage years as singles to God. “I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to please the Lord. And the unmarried or betrothed woman is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to holy in body and spirit…I say this for your own benefit, not to lat any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.” (1 Corinthians 7:32, 34-35). Heather Arnel Paulsen explains, “When singles keep their attention or energy focused on themselves and not on a love relationship with God, they miss out on many activities that would bring about deep satisfaction. Enjoying and serving the Creator should be our number one goal, and this period in our life allows for 100 percent attention on God.” That would preach.

3. BEING HOLY AND TRUE BEFORE GOD AND TO YOURSELF. The heart of worship is consistently honest. Our God says from Isaiah 29:13, “These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is based on merely human rules they have been taught.” We should desire to give God only our best and our truest. The best worship we can give to God is when we worship Him alone. If we really want to have a consistently honest worship to God, we shall consider what the apostle Paul stated in Romans 12:1-2, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.”

4. STRONGER DISCERNMENT OF THE PLANS AND WORKS OF THE DEVIL. We need to pray harder to expose the plans and works of the devil in our lives. The truth is, demons do not want to be exposed. W need to pray for stronger discernment because a C.J. Mahaney explains, “With no defenses and no understanding, you’re an easy target for this roaring lion of a devil who wants nothing more than to ensnare and to destroy your life.” Let’s read 1 Peter 5:8-9, “Be self-controlled and alert…Resist him, standing firm in faith…” Satan desires to have an authority over our lives. He seeks to build foundation upon our past failures, unforgiveness, disappointments and weakness. He does that to gain authority over a life, then he can still vision, hope and destiny. Dethrone Satan by operating in our God-given authority. To dethrone his authority, we are to “cast down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought in captivity.” (2 Corinthians 10:5).

5. THE ANOINTING POWER OF THE HOLY SPIRIT. We all believe in the Holy Spirit. The question is, if what we know about the Holy Spirit is true? What are the things that the Holy Spirit could do to us? What shall we do to welcome the Holy Spirit in our lives? We desire to become anointed so that the power of God be manifested in our lives. We should become channel of blessings. John 14:16 states that God will leave us a “Helper” which is the Holy Spirit. Joshua Harris explains, “When the Father planned, and the Son purchased by His death, the Holy Spirit activates or applies in our lives. It is the Holy Spirit who gives us a new spiritual heart (John 3:5-8; Romans 8:9-11). It is through the Holy Spirit that we are washed, sanctified and justified (1 Corinthians 6:11). It is the Holy Spirit who empowers us to become like Jesus (Romans 8:14; Galatians 5:16-18)”

There you go. These are the 5 points that God wants us to pray for. Just remember the word “Holiness!” Maybe some will say that I am already “Holy” in a sarcastic way. Maybe they will think that I am after the christian fame because I experience God revealed something to me. Well, whatever happens, we shouldn’t be distracted. Just keep an undivided heart and devotion to the Lord. Let us all pray to God that we shall all experience His glory. Let us pray to experience Heaven invading the earth. GLORY. God bless us all!

Leave a Reply

